Click to Translate to English Click to Translate to French  Click to Translate to Spanish  Click to Translate to German  Click to Translate to Italian  Click to Translate to Japanese  Click to Translate to Chinese Simplified  Click to Translate to Korean  Click to Translate to Arabic  Click to Translate to Russian  Click to Translate to Portuguese  Click to Translate to Myanmar (Burmese)

PANDEMIC ALERT LEVEL
Forum Home Forum Home > Pandemic Prepping Forums > General Prepping Tips
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Tracking the next pandemic: Avian Flu Talk

A Personal View.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
V.I.P. Member
V.I.P. Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ozjohn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A Personal View.
    Posted: April 28 2006 at 5:58pm
Hi, I am a newbie from Australia with some thought on BF Pandemic preparations etc.

First of all I feel that the possibility of this hitting the fan is about 1% to 5%,  and recently the thought occured to me that I would NEVER get on a plane with those odds.

As I consider myself the 'patriarch' of my family and having the funds to do so, I have decided that I would/will do all the planning and preparation over the past 3 months and following 3 months. If it has not happened in about the next year it probably will not happen at all.   Hope so anyway.

My first decision was that at the very first confirmation of human to human transmission I would act.  My home and the people in it would be quarantined and I would venture to the supermarket, once,  to top up my 'supplies' with whatever I could get my hands on. Two Masks, one on top of the other,  would be worn ANYWHERE human contact is possible.

Very frequent hand-washing with Ethanol antiseptic gel or methylated spirits would be carried out. Shoes would be stepped into a shallow 'bath' of 100% disinfectant.

My supplies are based on:-

MASKS,    of course.